Los Alamos High School Announces 2020 AP Award Winners


Despite the closure of school in mid-March and the need for online testing, 305 Los Alamos High School (LAPS) AP students took 520 AP® exams this past May.

This year, 73 percent of students received scores of 3 or higher on their exams.

“We are proud of our students on their AP accomplishments,” LAHS Principal Carter Payne said. “This was an unusual year and they handled the switch from paper and pencil to online testing well.”

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program® (AP®) provides students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP Exams.

The AP program at LAHS offers more than 25 courses in the Arts, English, History and Social Sciences, Math and Computer Science, Sciences and World Languages.

As part of this year’s results, 100 percent of exams had scores of 3 or higher in Calculus BC, Chinese, Drawing, French and Physics C: Mechanics.

Ninety-five students are being recognized by College Board for their levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP Exams.

Nine students earned the National AP Scholar Award by receiving an average score of at least 4 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams. These students are Talia Ben-Naim, Filippo Delzanno, Sruthi Garimella, Emily Holmes, Cinlong Huang, Malea Joyce, Dimitri Lopez, Gopal Nadiga and Lillian Petersen.

Thirty-six students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. These students are: Dara Armstrong, Talia Ben-Naim, Carlos Chacon Cuesta, Robin Chartrand, Michael Chigaev, Samuel Cirigliano, Amaya Coblentz, Maximilian Corliss, Isabel Crooker, Sarah Crotzer, Filippo Delzanno, Tayra Eidenbenz, Sruthi Garimella, Shena Han, Emily Holmes, Cinlong Huang, Malea Joyce, Ellery Leirmo, Dimitri Lopez, Aidan McCleskey, Nilesh Mukundan, Gopal Nadiga, Victoria Nisoli, Trystan Osburn, Lillian Petersen, Abril Romero, Isaac Ronning, Neha Sadasivan, Joshua Shevitz, Syler Sylvester, Kezia Tripp, Gerrit VanderWiel, May Vo, Andrew West, Esther Wermer and Elijah White.

Twenty students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. These students  are: Miguel Chacon Cuesta, Karin Ebey, Daniel Fryer, Hannah Gartz, Mirabelle Gerts, Stephen Gulley, Rhiann Johnson, Kathryn Laintz, Frances Laurent, Anthony Lestone, Noah Lyons, Isaiah Martinez, Christine Mathew, William McTeigue, Konstantin Nelson, Madeline Ovaska, Mark Sanchez, Eloise Schappert, Matthew Walker and Sarah Worley.

Thirty-nine students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by receiving scores of 3or higher on three or more AP Exams. The AP Scholars are: Lidia Appell, Natalie Aulwes, Jackson Bell, Logan Black, Joshua Carson, Anna Clark, Preslie Coffey, Kevin Dors, Katherine Elton, Mei Eutsler, Elizabeth Frost, Jose Garcia, Michaela Gonzales, Charles Hill, Philip Ionkov, Ian Jaegers, Cory Liechty, Sophia Mamula, Isabella Martinez Pruet, Nicholas Mozyrsky, Audrey Nolen, Allison Peterson, Joshua Posada, Roshan Prasad, Jillian Puckett, Thilo Roelofs, Maya Rogers, Brooklynn Scott, Takuma Shiina, Garrett Slama, Robert Strauss, Sofya Svyatskaya, Hunter Swavely, Nathaniel Turner, Allison Warner, Cameron Waters, Leeson Weaver, Abigail Wescott and Maybelle Wilson.

Each exam is developed by a committee of college and university faculty and AP teachers, ensuring that AP Exams are aligned with the same high standards expected by college faculty at some of the nation’s leading liberal arts and research institutions.

More than 3600 colleges and universities annually receive AP scores. Most four-year colleges in the United States provide credit and/or advanced placement for qualifying exam scores.

Research consistently shows that AP students who score a 3 or higher on AP Exams (based on a scale from 1 to 5, with 5 being the highest) typically experience greater academic success in college and have higher college graduation rates than students who do not participate in AP.

The College Board is a mission-driven not-for-profit organization that connects students to college success and opportunity. Founded in 1900, the College Board was created to expand access t to higher education. Today, the membership association is made up of more than 6,000 of the world’s leading educational institutions and is dedicated to promoting excellence and equity in education. Each year, the College Board helps more than 7 million students prepare for a successful transition to college through programs and services in college readiness and college success—including the SAT® and the Advanced Placement Program. The organization also serves the education community through research and advocacy on behalf of students, educators and schools.