Five LANL Scientists Elected 2019 American Physical Society Fellows

unnamed (80).jpgLos Alamos National Laboratory Scientists who have been named 2019 American Physical Society Fellows are, top row, from left, Hans Herrmann, Scott Hsu, and Alan Hurd. Bottom row, from left: Katherine Prestridge and Richard Van de Water


Five Los Alamos National Laboratory scientists have been elected 2019 Fellows of the American Physical Society (APS). Scott Hsu, Alan Hurd, Katherine Prestridge, Richard Van de Water, and Hans Herrmann were chosen for their “exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise.” Fewer than one half of one percent of APS members are elected as Fellows each year.

These five scientists represent the breadth of physics contributions made at the Laboratory. Van de Water said of the award, “The thrill of doing science is an award itself, an APS Fellowship honor makes it that much better.”

Hans Herrmann (Engineered Materials, MST-7) was cited for “pioneering the use of Cherenkov radiation techniques for high energy gamma spectroscopy applications at the National Ignition and Omega Laser Facility.”

Scott Hsu (Physics, P-DO) was cited for “seminal experiments elucidating the physics of merging plasmas and jets spanning hydrodynamic to magnetized, self-organized behavior, thus impacting basic plasma physics, plasma astrophysics, and innovative fusion concept development.”

Alan Hurd (National Security Education Center, NSEC) was cited for “seminal advances in the physics of soft matter and applications of neutron scattering, and for advancing international science diplomacy.”

Katherine Prestridge (Neutron Science and Technology, P-23) was cited for “thoughtfully designed experiments on shock-driven mixing and turbulence, and for developing advanced flow diagnostics that bring insights to the understanding of mixing in extreme flows.”

Richard Van de Water (Subatomic Physics, P-25) was cited for “outstanding contributions to solar-neutrino and short-baseline accelerator-neutrino physics experiments that have shed new light on neutrino properties and have provided evidence for physics beyond the Standard Model.”