County: LAC Academy Celebrates 17 New Graduates

Graduates of LAC Academy spring class. Photo by Vint Miller/LAC


Members of the LAC Academy spring class were honored on their graduation day, April 20, in the Municipal Building Council Chambers. The Academy is a nine-week cohort style leadership development program for identified high potential leaders in Los Alamos County. The current class of graduates includes 17 County employees from 12 different divisions serving the community. 

“I am very glad we were able to resume this successful program following a long hiatus due to the pandemic, and I want to congratulate all of the graduates for completing the program,” commented County Manager Steven Lynne. 

Tailored to address the County’s workforce, the LAC Academy incorporates opportunities to network across departments. Employees enrolled in the Academy benefit from gaining new perspectives, direct instruction in leadership and supervisory skills, team building, and group discussion.     

The spring 2023 graduates are: Daniel Blea, Public Works; Rosabella Romero, HR; Jason Tomko, Golf Course; Tracey Alarid, DPU; Victoria DeVargas, Risk & Safety; Antonio Martinez, GWS; James Martinez, DPU; Sobia Sayeda, CDD; Melissa Dadzie, Finance; Mariano Montoya, DPU; David Martinez, CDD; Karen Henderson, Public Works; Seth Martinez, Dispatch; Norma Covington, Library; Victoria Martinez, Clerk; Augustus L’Esperance, Police; and Nerio Gurule, Assessor’s Office. 

New this year, graduates of the Academy are eligible to continue their leadership development by attending a six-week Leadership Power Skills training, where they can hone their skills in effective communication, conflict resolution and delegation.  

Developed to supplement our Operational Excellence initiative, the LAC Academy graduates achieve an honor reserved for a select few. The first graduating class consisted of the Senior Management Team who completed the pilot program in the spring of 2015.  Since then, Los Alamos County has conduct two cohorts per year, except for 2020-2021, due to the COVID-19 pandemic.  Students are nominated by their peers, supervisors or the County Leadership Team.