Members Of Los Alamos Police Department Honored At Annual Awards Banquet

Members of the Los Alamos Police Department and their families gather at the Annual Awards Banquet. Photo by Kateri Morris

LAPD Officer of the Year Joseph Dezendorf, with award, is congratulated by LAPD senior staff, from left, Cmdr. Preston Ballew, Cmdr. James Rodriguez, Cmdr. Daniel Roberts, Dezendorf, Chief Dino Sgambellone and Deputy Chief Oliver Morris. Photo by Kateri Morris


On Saturday, February 18 the Los Alamos Police held its annual awards banquet to honor and recognize employees for dedication and outstanding service to the community.

Police Officers, Dispatchers, Detention Staff, Animal Control Officers, Emergency Management, and Support Staff were given various awards based on their performance in 2022.

“Having the opportunity to recognize the outstanding work of the PD employees is one of the best duties I have as Chief.  I am honored to be able to work alongside them and I value their commitment to community safety.” said Chief of Police Dino Sgambellone 

Over 50 awards were given to recognize several areas to include; letters of appreciation, pistol experts, community service, commendable service, educational achievements, civilian service, police chief commendations, life saving awards, and our “of the year awards.” 

Cody Ulrich was awarded the Civilian of the Year award.

Miki Moreno was awarded the Animal Control Officer of the Year.

Joseph Dezendorf was awarded the Officer of the Year. 

Detective Sergeant Ryan Wolking and Sergeant Chris Ross were awarded the Supervisor of the Year.