2022 Primary Election Results Canvassed

Attending the June 13 Canvass Board meeting at the Los Alamos County Municipal Building are, from left, Board Member James Rickman, Chief Deputy Clerk Adrianna Ortiz, and Board members Heath Davis (standing), Betty Ann Gunther, and Cameron Counters. Photo by County Clerk Naomi Maestas


The Los Alamos County (LAC) Clerk’s Office has completed the required canvass  process to certify and finalize the results of the 2022 Primary Election, held Tuesday, June 7. The Canvass  Board met on Monday, June 13 in the Municipal Building.

The Canvass Board consisted of  Cameron Counters (Democrat), Betty Ann Gunther (Democrat), Heath Davis (Libertarian) and Mr. James  Rickman (Democrat). Not present was Board Member Jolyn McTeigue (Republican). Also in attendance were  County Clerk Naomi Maestas, Acting Elections Manager Victoria Martinez, and Chief Deputy Clerk Adrianna Ortiz. Member of the public Kimberly Thomas observed. 

During the process, the Canvass Board verified the accuracy of the election results from the early and absentee  locations, as well as the election day vote centers. The canvassed results proved to be a precise match between the  machine tapes and the results posted on election day. The Canvass Board also reviewed hand-tallied and write-in  ballot information for accuracy. The Canvass Board then issued a certificate of canvass, which has been sent to the  New Mexico Secretary of State and others as required by law. The results next go through another canvass at the  state level and then a third review by an independent auditor.

The certificate of canvass and official election results  have been made available on the County Clerk webpage: http://www.losalamosnm.us/clerk. When asked about the  process, James Rickman stated, “It was a pleasure serving with board members who are  dedicated to ensuring the integrity of elections in Los Alamos County. Thanks to the fastidious efforts of the Los Alamos  County Clerk and her staff, and all of the people who worked the polls, the board was able to efficiently delve into  election details we felt were important to examine in greater detail, and to have all of our questions answered. At the  end of this experience, I can confidently say to anyone out there that I have the highest confidence that Los Alamos  County has once again conducted a free and fair election, a cornerstone to a thriving Democracy.” 

The final count of ballots cast in the 2022 Primary Election totaled 3,301, representing a turnout of 30% among the  11,035 eligible Los Alamos County registered voters. Of the total 3,301 votes, 1,744 were cast during early voting, 203 were cast by mail, and 1,354 were cast on election day. New Mexico’s ability to register and vote the same day  allowed 117 voters — 39 during Early Voting and 78 on Election Day — to participate and make their voices heard  by either becoming a new voter or changing their party affiliation.

“While this election was not  as robust as past elections, I would like to notice and appreciate the 3,301 voters who participated in this recent  election in one fashion or another and made an effort to make their voices heard,” said Clerk Maestas.

Clerk Maestas would like to thank all the candidates for their dedication and commitment through this election process.  A big thanks to the UNM-Los Alamos and Betty Ehart Senior Center — as well as the League of Women Voters of Los  Alamos, our partner in promoting voter registration and sharing key election information. She would also like to extend a special thanks to all the Election Poll Workers, who spent many hours, from May 10 through the late  hours on election day serving voters in a friendly, professional, and efficient manner.

“I would like to express my  sincere gratitude to the election workers, who are true patriots for their bravery and dedication to the election process!  We all are extremely fortunate for their service!” said Clerk Maestas. 

Clerk Maestas would also like to extend her sincerest appreciation to the numerous County Departments staff who all  contributed to the success of the election. A special thank you to all of the Clerk staff: Acting Elections Manager Victoria  Martinez; Chief Deputy Clerk Adrianna Ortiz; Senior Deputy Clerk Victoria Montoya; Deputy Clerks Anna Archuleta,  Ubaldo Barela, McKenzie Vaupel, and Allison Collins; and Student Clerk Katelyn Alarid. 

Clerk Maestas would also like to remind those residents who registered by mail, online, or with the Motor Vehicle  Department after May 10 that we will begin to process registrations when books re-open on July 12. Those who are not registered or have moved can obtain a voter registration application outside the County Clerk’s Office, located  at 1000 Central Avenue, 2nd Floor, Suite 240. Voter registration services and forms are also available through the  Motor Vehicle Department or online to eligible New Mexico citizens through the NM Secretary of State website:  NMVote.org.  

For more info, please visit the Clerk’s website at http://www.losalamosnm.us/clerk or contact the office at 505-662-8010  or by email at clerks@lacnm.us or elections@lacnm.us

Follow the Los Alamos County Clerk’s Office on Facebook + Instagram + Twitter.