Four Apply For Vacant Seat On Los Alamos County Council


Los Alamos County has received applications from four candidates for the vacant seat on Los Alamos County Council. They are James W. Hall, Keith C. Lepsch, Gene Austin Nixon and Aaron Dennis Walker. Deadline for applications was 5 p.m. Monday.

The County Clerk’s Office on Tuesday determined that the four candidates are qualified voters who live in the County. The next step will be for Council to interview the four candidates in person at the April 5 Council meeting.

Per the Charter for the Incorporated County, Article II, 200.1, eligible candidates must be qualified voters who reside in the County and are not otherwise employed by the County. All candidates must participate in person at the April 5 Council meeting in Council Chambers at the Municipal Building. Councilors will ask each candidate several questions and immediately select one of the candidates to complete the term of former Councilor Sean Williams, which ends Dec. 31, 2024.