Ten LAHS Seniors Attain Finalist Standing In 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program

LAHS 2022 National Merit Scholarship Finalists/Courtesy LAPS


Ten Los Alamos High School seniors have attained finalist standing in the 2022 competition for National Merit  Scholarship awards. They are Andrew Collins, Andrew Corliss, Jennie Gao, Cinyoung Huang, Phillip  Ionkov, Olivia Koo, Kathryn Osburn, Aaron Philip, Kamaya Ronning and Robert Strauss. 

Approximately 7,500 National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from the group of more than 15,000  Finalists. Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for  success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference. 

Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2022. Every Finalist will  compete for one of 2,500 National Merit® $2500 Scholarships that will be awarded on a state representational basis. About 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards will be provided by  approximately 220 corporations and business organizations for Finalists who meet their specified  criteria, such as children of the grantor’s employees or residents of communities where sponsor plants or  offices are located. In addition, about 180 colleges and universities are expected 

to finance some 4,000 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards for Finalists who will attend the  sponsor institution.

National Merit Scholarship winners of 2022 will be announced in four nationwide news releases  beginning in April and concluding in July. These scholarship recipients will join more than 362,000 other  distinguished young people who have earned the Merit Scholar title.