League Of Women Voters Candidate Forum On Zoom Set For Wednesday, Oct. 6


The League of Women Voters Los Alamos will present the Candidate Forum for Los Alamos Public Schools Board and UNM-LA Advisory Board via Zoom from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. on Wednesday, Oct. 6.

Acting LAPS Supt. Jennifer Guy will explain the mill levy question. County Clerk Naomi Maestas will speak briefly about how this election will be conducted. Early in-person voting begins Tuesday, Oct. 5, at the County Municipal Building.

School Board candidates Ellen Specter (District 1); Antonio Jaurigue and Stephen Boerigter (District 2); Melanie Colgan and Rick Mooday (District 4); and Erin Green (District 5) will participate.

Paul Jaramillo (District 2) and Nickole Aguilar Garcia (District 5), are unable to attend. They have been invited to submit a written statement to be read at the Forum.

The candidates for UNM-LA Advisory Board are: Alissa Grissom and Chris Luchini (Position 1), Laura Charlotte Woodring, Lee Weinland, and Charles McCullough (Position 2), David Hanson and David Hampton (Position 5).

To watch the live forum, please register in advance at:


After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

As a non-partisan organization, the League does not support, oppose, or make recommendations regarding any political party or candidate. To read the responses each candidate submitted to LWV questions, link to: https://my.lwv.org/…/%5Bcurrent…/voter_guide_2021-lr.pdf

The Los Alamos Public School Board elections are divided into five voting districts, although only four districts have openings this year. Voters only choose board members from their own district. To determine your LAPS voting district, go to NMVOTE.org (Voter Information Portal), click on the “Find My Registration and Election Information” box, and fill in the requested information.