Los Alamos Employees’ Scholarship Advisory Committee Seeks New Member Nominations

Past Chair
LAESF Advisory Committee

The Los Alamos Employees’ Scholarship Fund (LAESF) Advisory Committee is seeking committee member nominations by June 25, 2021.

The LAESF Advisory Committee is made up entirely of donors.  As a donor, you are eligible to serve as a member of the LAESF Advisory Committee. If you are not a current donor, you still have time to donate before submitting a nomination. LANL employees can donate through the Giving Tool (open year round) on the home page. Non-LANL community members can donate through the LANL Foundation web site.  

Members of the committee are directly involved in:

  • Maintaining the criteria and ranking methods for the awards;
  • Outreach to schools and soliciting applications from students in seven Northern New Mexico Counties (Los Alamos, Mora, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, San Miguel, Santa Fe, Taos);
  • Performing the application evaluation and selection of scholars; 
  • Alumni engagement;
  • Fundraising 

The LAESF Advisory Committee executes these functions under the umbrella of the LANL Foundation  with assistance and guidance from the LANL Community Partnerships Office.

To date, there have been more than 1,900 scholarships awarded totaling over $9,000,000.  This includes total employee donations in excess of $5,400,000.  

We need YOU to represent OUR diverse communities and donors! 

This year, the committee is soliciting interest for SIX positions. The goal is to build a committee that reflects the diversity of our donor population and the northern New Mexico communities we serve.

Interested candidates are encouraged to go to the LANL Foundation Partners Webpage and review the Frequently Asked Questions and fill out a Nominations Form.  You are welcome to self-nominate by sending a complete nominations form to Raeanna Sharp-Geiger, Advisory Committee Past-Chair, no later than June 25, 2021.  We ask you describe your interest in serving and any relevant skills or experience you would bring to the committee in the nominations form.  

If you have any questions or would like to learn more about the committee activities, please send Raeanna Sharp-Geiger an email.  

Plan to be actively involved in important aspects of LAESF

Advisory Committee members serve three-year terms, with a maximum of two consecutive terms (maximum of six years continuous service). Committee members must be current-year donors to the fund but are not required to be Laboratory employees. Children, grandchildren, dependents, spouses and domestic partners of committee members will not be eligible to apply for a scholarship during a member’s term.

Service on the committee is a year-round commitment that will require you to attend a one-day annual retreat in August, a 90-minute lunch meeting once a month, and a full day Scholarship selections retreat in February. In addition, all committee members will evaluate applications for the four-year scholarship (about 30 hours of evening or weekend work) and at least one round of the Career Pathways scholarships (about 10 hours of evening or weekend work).

Advisory Committee members also participate in other sub-committees: outreach visits to regional high schools in the fall, fundraising initiatives in early summer, alumni engagement activities, and/or participate in semi-annual evaluation of applicants for the Career Pathways scholarship. 

We hope you will consider self-nominating for a position on the Advisory Committee, and choose to participate in a rewarding volunteer experience serving Northern New Mexico students and communities through the impact of scholarships!