Los Alamos Public Schools Honors 21 Retiring Employees

Some of the 21 employees retiring from Los Alamos Public Schools this year. Courtesy photo


Los Alamos Public Schools honored 21 employees who are retiring during the 2020-21 school year.  Retirees and their families attended the celebration in the School Boardroom while others attended  via Zoom. 

School principals as well as representatives from Facilities and the Central Office spoke on behalf of their staff who are retiring. This year’s list combined has over 350 years of experience with the district. 

“We appreciate the dedication and service this group has provided to Los Alamos Public Schools over the  years,” said Supt. Kurt Steinhaus. “We wish you all the best in your retirement.” 

This year’s retirees include: 

Aspen Elementary – Pauline Stephens 

Barranca Elementary – Julie Collins, Patricia Jaramillo and Daryl Osden 

Chamisa Elementary – Kim Letellier and Renee Mitsunaga 

Mountain Elementary – Mary Maestas, Katrina Rupprecht and Bernadette Ziomek

Piñon Elementary – Herb Siegel 

Los Alamos Middle School – Jennifer Neil 

Los Alamos High School – Barbara Baker, Ellen Cort, Michelle Holland,  Virginia Kachelmeier, Robyn Ladino, Eva Pacheco and  Katie Tauxe 

Central Office – Kurt Steinhaus and Kathryn Vandenkieboom 

Facilities Department – Maria De Lourdes-Hernandez

Kim Letellier, left, and Renee Mitsunaga are retiring from Chamisa Elementary School. Courtesy photo