Six Candidates Qualify For Congressional District 1 Special Election, Absentee Ballot Requests Now Available


Following this week’s Candidate Filing Day when prospective candidates for the Congressional District 1 special election and major parties submitted required paperwork in order to appear on the ballot, Secretary of State Maggie Toulouse Oliver announced today that six candidates have qualified for the June 1, 2021 election.

“I’m pleased to announce today that my Office has officially certified six candidates for the special election ballot and I encourage all eligible voters to start learning about the candidates and getting prepared to vote,” said Secretary Toulouse Oliver. 

The six candidates who qualified to appear on the ballot for the Congressional District 1 special election are as follows:

  • Aubrey Dunn (Independent)
  • Christopher Manning (Libertarian Party)
  • Mark David Moores (Republican Party)
  • Laura Olivas (Write-In)
  • Robert Ornelas (Write-In)
  • Melanie Ann Stansbury (Democratic Party)

A full list of all the candidates who submitted paperwork on Candidate Filing Day, which includes candidate contact information, can be found on the Secretary of State’s website. The names of write-in candidates will not appear on the ballot.

Our website also includes an informational page for the special election with a list of important dates and deadlines, the election proclamation, FAQs for candidates and voters, and more. These are some of the important dates for voters in Congressional District 1 to keep in mind:

  • Election Day is Tuesday, June 1, 2021 with polls open from 7:00am to 7:00pm
  • Register to vote or update voter registration online at NMVOTE.ORG
    • Deadline to register or update voter registration is May 4, 2021
  • Early voting runs from May 4, 2021 to May 29, 2021
    • Early vote at County Clerks’ offices starting on May 4, with wider early voting locations opening on May 15
  • Absentee voting is available
    • Apply for an absentee ballot beginning April 7
    • The last day to submit an absentee ballot application is May 27

The special election for Congressional District 1 will take place under the Governor’s current public health order regarding COVID-19. All polling places will be equipped with personal protective equipment for voters and election officials. Voters will be required to wear masks and follow all public health guidelines when voting in person.

Congressional District 1 includes most of Bernalillo County, all of Torrance County, and parts of Santa Fe, Sandoval, and Valencia Counties. All eligible voters who reside in Congressional District 1 can vote in the special election. Any voter who is unsure if they reside within the bounds of the district should review their voter registration at NMVOTE.ORG.