All State Honors For Los Alamos High School Symphonic Strings



The Los Alamos High School Symphonic Strings Orchestra has been recognized as the January 2021 All-State Honor Orchestras Ensemble by the New Mexico Music Educators Association (NMMEA).

Since the All-State performance will not be held in person, LAPS team members will collaborate to create a video of the students’ work which will be showcased virtually on January 7, 2021.

In order to win this prestigious honor, students submitted their MPA (Music Performance
Assessment) recordings. MPA for orchestra took place last spring the day before the COVID-19 pandemic started — a stressful day for everyone.

“We are extremely proud of these students and their accomplishment,” said Michelle Rosette, LAHS orchestra director. “Despite the circumstances, they rose the occasion and received some of the best MPA scores that this group has ever received.”

Orchestra members include Mikalh Adams, Ursula Coe, Madelyn Crotzer, Jonas Drayna, Joshua Duran, Sonja Ebey, Philippa Fung, Violet Henderson, Wakeiyo Hettinga, Jinheon Kim, Caleb Langenbrunner, Suyeon Lee, Chloe Li, Rebecca Li, Alexander Livescu, Hank Merrill, Yeanwoo Park, Joshua Posada, Maximus Posada, Athena Preston, Hana Raby, Lia Rushton, Kayden Shrader, Alexandra Simakov, Ian Swift, Delaney Ulrich and Sara Beste Zeytun.

“Congratulations to this talented group of students,” said Superintendent Kurt Steinhaus. “We are extremely proud of your accomplishment.”