This School Year, All LAPS Staff Are ‘Employee Of The Year’

Kim Clayton

Los Alamos Public Schools has announced that Kimberly Clayton is the nominee from LAPS for State Teacher of the Year. Photo Courtesy LAPS


We are pleased to announce the Los Alamos Public Schools’ nomination for State Teacher of the Year is Kimberly Clayton. Kimberly spearheads the new Intensive Early Learning Program, and due to her dedication and hard work, our community can say we are doing everything we can to include all students to become successful in life. A peer of Kimberly’s said, “No matter what she has going on, she is willing to help those around her in any way.”

Congratulations to the following nominees for Certified and Classified Employees of the Year for their outstanding resilience and innovative creativity during this challenging epidemic.


  • Amanda Ferran, Pinon
  • Shirley Edmondson, LAHS
  • Stephanie Martinez, Barranca
  • Julie Bulthuis, Aspen
  • Cynthia Richard, Chamisa
  • Nadine Crane, LAMS


  • LeaAnn Alison, Pinon
  • Lucy Belian, LAHS
  • Luz Pieck, Barranca
  • Gail Lance, Mountain
  • Tanya Norris-Sanchez, Aspen
  • Stephanie Miller, Chamisa
  • Rosa Schmitz, LAMS

Due to everyone’s overwhelming resilience during this epidemic, we would like to give every staff member the recognition of Employee of the Year. We’d like to honor you and all you’ve done for our students and families during these challenging times.