RPNM Issues Results From Saturday’s Pre-Primary Convention

The Republican Party of Los Alamos was represented at the State Pre-Primary Convention this past Saturday, March 7 by, from left, Clyde Jaeger, Joshua Muck, Dianne Coane, Paul Jaramillo, Bill McKerley, Shona Neff, Gary Stradling, Heather Muck, and David Reagor. Photo Courtesy RPLA


More than 800 Republicans from around New Mexico took part in the State Pre-Primary Convention Saturday at the Hotel Albuquerque.

Delegates had been elected from their counties to attend the Convention, and they selected federal candidates for New Mexico’s June 2 Primary Election.

The votes capped an exciting State Pre-Primary Convention steered by Convention Chair and former Party Chair John Billingsley and current Party Chair Steve Pearce. The Convention included speeches by all 16 candidates seeking the open U.S. Senate and three Congressional District seats.

Voters decided that two candidates from each federal race will be on the Republican Primary slate.

In the U.S. Senate race, Elisa Martinez received the most votes and will be in the top ballot position. Mark Ronchetti received the second most votes and also will be on the ballot.

In the 1st Congressional District race, Michelle Garcia Holmes got the most votes and will top the ballot position. She’ll be on the ballot with Jared Vander Dussen.

In the 2nd Congressional District race, Yvette Herrell will top the ballot followed by Claire Chase.

In the 3rd Congressional District race, Harry Montoya received the most votes and will take the top ballot position. Karen Bedonie also will be on the ballot.

To get on the Primary Ballot, candidates must receive 20 percent of the vote. If they receive less, they may elect to get signatures to try to qualify to get on the Primary ballot.

“This has been a magnificent Convention,” said Republican Party of New Mexico Chairman Steve Pearce. “Enthusiasm is sky-high in our Party. We are on a mission to turn New Mexico red this fall, and there’s lots of excitement, strength and unity in our Party right now. It’s thrilling. Our selected candidates for federal offices are highly qualified, diverse and adhere to conservative principles. There’s a real energy among Republicans right now all over New Mexico.”

U.S. Senate
Elisa Martinez 241 – On ballot
Mark Ronchetti 198 – On ballot
Louie Sanchez 113
Mick Rich 72
Gavin Clarkson 66

CD 1
Michelle Garcia Holmes 135 – On Ballot
Jared Vander Dussen 64 – On Ballot
Brett Kokinadis 14

CD 2
Yvette Herrell 168 – On Ballot
Claire Chase 83 – On Ballot
Chris Mathys  3

CD 3
Harry Montoya 86 – On Ballot
Karen  Bedonie 69 – On Ballot
​Anise Golden-Morper​ 39
Alexis Johnson 25
Audra Brown 4