Los Alamos Police Department Holds Annual Awards Banquet

Police 2Attending the Los Alamos Police Department awards banquet Feb. 8 are, back row from left, Sgt. James Rodriguez, Ofc. David Randleman, Cpl. John Harris, Ofc. Amos Smith, Deputy Chief Jason Herrera, Chief Dino Sgambellone, Sgt. Ben Irving, Ofc. Samantha Terrazas, Det. Joseph Robinson, Det. Ryan Wolking, Ofc. John Schwettman and Sgt. Eric Wilhoit. Front row: Cmdr. Preston Ballew, Cmdr. Oliver Morris, Sgt. Chris Ross and Det. Matt Lyon. Photo Courtesy LAPD


Los Alamos Police Department held its annual awards banquet Saturday, Feb. 8 at the Los Alamos Sheriff’s Posse Lodge.

The following awards were presented to Department personnel:

Civilian of the Year – Kate Stoddard, Consolidated Dispatch Center Manager
Public Service Aide of the Year – Paul Sena, Animal Shelter Manager
Detective of the Year – Det. Matt Lyon
Officer of the Year – Cpl. John Harris
Detention Supervisor of the Year – Sgt. Erika Martinez-Bustos
Operations Supervisor of the Year – Sgt. Ben Irving
Supervisor of the Year – Sgt. James Rodriguez

In addition the following awards were awarded for outstanding achievements:

Sgt. Chris Ross –  Life Saving Commendation and Medal of Valor
Cpl. Jemuel Montoya – Medal of Valor
Sgt. Tim Lonz – Medal of Valor
Cmdr. Oliver Morris – Medal of Valor
Cmdr. Preston Ballew – Medal of Valor
Deputy Chief Jason Herrera – Medal of Valor