Three Winners Of 2019 George And Joan Bjarke Scholarship Announced

BjarkeWinners.jpgIsrael Gellis, left, and Morgan Jones are winners of the 2019 George and Joan Bjarke Scholarship. Not pictured is Emmeline Segler, the third winner of the scholarship. Photo by Jessica Booton Photography,


The Los Alamos Public Schools Foundation and the Bjarke family have announced the winners of the 2019 George and Joan Bjarke Scholarship. The winners are Israel Gellis, Morgan Jones and Emmeline Segler.

The scholarship is awarded annually to students who demonstrate good citizenship and the ability to successfully complete their selected degree or program.

George and Joan Bjarke were long-time residents of Los Alamos and staunch supporters of education. The couple moved to Los Alamos in 1954 and raised six children, all of whom graduated from LAHS. George worked at the Los Alamos National Laboratory and served several terms on the School Board. George and Joan both believed every child deserves a chance to further their education.

Israel Gellis is the son of Ed and Krista Gellis. He will attend Arizona State University in
the fall where he plans to major in Business Administration.

Morgan Jones is the daughter of Daren and Michelle Jones. She will attend New Mexico
State University where she will major in Business Administration.

Emmeline Segler is the daughter of Jeff and Susan Segler. She will attend Texas Tech
University in the fall where she will major in Business.

The George and Joan Bjarke Scholarship is administered by the Los Alamos Public
Schools Foundation, an independent organization that that supports, challenges, and
invests in a successful future for all Los Alamos public school students. Learn more at