LAFD To Recognize Station 6 B-Shift Crews And Dedicate Community AED Friday At Ashley Pond Pavilion



Join the Los Alamos Fire Department (LAFD) this Friday, June 21, at 6 p.m. at the Summer Concert Series at Ashley Pond Pavilion as we recognize the Station 6 B-shift crew, including Captain Ernest Agnew, Driver Engineer Scott Hoffmann, Firefighter-Paramedic Zane Frentheway, Firefighter-Paramedic Bobby Fuselier, and Firefighter Ryan Wolf. 

In June 2018, Captain Ernest Agnew and the Station 6 B-shift crew responded to a critical patient that was experiencing a medical emergency. The patient was immediately transported to the Los Alamos Medical Center (LAMC). Captain Agnew and his crew showed their concern and dedication, staying at LAMC to help medical staff to stabilize the patient. Their actions, in cooperation with the medical providers at LAMC, ultimately resulting in a life being saved. 

The information gained from the life-saving experience was shared with hospital administration and at a Community Health Council Meeting, where it was discussed that the community would benefit greatly with having Automated External Defibrillator’s (AED) in public places. Liz Alvarez of LAMC, who attended the meeting, presented the idea to the Medical Center, who donated two AED’s to the community in the name of the LAFD first responders that went above and beyond to save a life. 

Over the past year, and with the overwhelming support of LAMC CEO John Whiteside, the project has moved forward, with assistance from several Los Alamos County departments, including Information Management, Facilities, and Parks, and in collaboration with Los Alamos Heart Council and LAMC.  The first AED was installed at Ashley Pond Park, near the public restrooms. The second AED will be installed at Sullivan Field at a future date.

LAFD hopes to see everyone this Friday at the Summer Concert Series as we honor our LAFD First Responders, LAMC and Los Alamos County for the work and effort that provided this critical life saving device to the community of Los Alamos County.