First Larry Baca Memorial Scholarship Winners Announced

BacaWinners.jpg2019 Larry Baca Memorial Scholarship winners are Marin Kelly and Elijah Velasquez. Photo by Jessica Booton Photography,


The Los Alamos Public Schools Foundation is proud to announce the winners of the first ever Larry Baca Memorial Scholarship. They are Elijah Velasquez and Marin Kelly. The scholarships were awarded based on students meeting an academic requirement and having participated in track or cross country.

The scholarship is named for Larry Baca, a renowned coach in Los Alamos for 30 years and member of the Los Alamos High School Hall of Fame and New Mexico Coaches Hall of Fame. He was a tremendous athlete at LAHS participating in baseball, basketball, wrestling, football and track. A role model to youth in our community, Baca’s humility, determination and sportsmanship enabled his track teams to achieve numerous district and state track titles.

Elijah Velasquez is the son of Desiree Velasquez. He will attend Queens University of Charlotte where he will study Biochemistry.

Marin Kelly is the daughter of Daniel and Christina Kelly. She plans to student Pre-pharmacy at New Mexico State University.

The Larry Baca Memorial Scholarship is administered by the Los Alamos Public Schools Foundation, an independent organization that that supports, challenges, and invests in a successful future for all Los Alamos public school students. Learn more at