Longtime Pajarito Mountain Ski Patrollers Honored Saturday

IMG_1070.jpgPajarito Mountain Ski Patrollers took time out from their awards event Saturday to remember their beloved Boyd Sherwood who passed away in April 8, 2014. During his 40 years on the patrol  Boyd received two Purple Merit Stars, two Yellow Merit Stars, two Certificates of Appreciation, a National Appointment,and a Distinguished Service Award. In March of 2014, in recognition of his 40 years as a volunteer ski patroller, Boyd received a Service Recognition Award for Dedicated and Humanitarian Service. Pictured are, from left, Asst. Patrol Director Denny Hjeresen, Mary Lou Sherwood, Ralph Nelson and Kim Sherwood. Photo by Maire O’Neill/losalamosreporter.com

IMG_1077 (1).jpgGlen and Jackie Edwards were surprise visitors Saturday at the Pajarito Mountain Ski Patrol awards. Edwards was a Pajarito Mountain patroller during 1966-1967. Photo by Maire O’Neill/losalamosreporter.com

IMG_1048.jpgPajarito Mountain Ski Patrollers at Saturday’s awards event. Photo by Maire O’Neill/losalamosreporter.com

IMG_1039 (1).jpgPajarito Mountain Ski Patroller Eric Schaller with his dog, Gnar at Saturday’s awards event. Photo by Maire O’Neill/losalamosreporter.com

IMG_1034 (1).jpgJim Lujan, far left, Patroller Christine Bollock and Patroller Mike O’Neill chat at Saturday’s Pajarito Mountain Ski Patrol awards event. Photo by Maire O’Neill/losalamosreporter.com

IMG_1060.jpgReceiving their 10-year Pajarito Mountain Ski Patrol service pins Saturday  are, from left, Denny Hjeresen, Bill Purtymun and Christine Bullock. Not pictured are Ross McDonald and Craigen Higgins. Photo by Maire O’Neill/losalamosreporter.com

IMG_1075 (2).jpgPatrol members and family at Saturday’s awards event. Photo by Maire O’Neill/losalamosreporter.com

IMG_1058 (1).jpgSki patrollers, from left, Verena Geppert-Kleinrath and Hans Herrmann receive their five-year pins from Asst, Patrol Director Denny Hjersen. Not pictured are Diane Minfa, John Rees, Ethan Kaufman and Max Herrmann. Photo by Maire O’Neill/losalamosreporter.com

IMG_1059.jpgPatroller Hans Herrmann is presented with the Golden Ski award from Patrol Director Bill Purtymun. Herrman apparently rolled a snowmobile twice under the Spruce Lift to earn the fun award. Photo by Maire O’Neill/losalamosreporter.com

IMG_1052.jpgPajarito Mountain Ski Patrol Director Bill Purtymun, right, presents an award to former director Bill Somers. Somers has been with the patrol since 1981. He passed became a Senior Patroller in 1999 and received a National Appointment shortly thereafter. He served as volunteer patrol for more than 10 years. He also served as the Rio Grande Region NSP Director and Southwest Director until 2010. Somers has been the Rocky Mountain Division Certified Advisor for several years. Photo by Maire O’Neill/losalamosreporter.com 

IMG_1062.jpgPajarito Mountain Ski Patroller Eric Brown, right, received his 15-year service award Saturday. Also pictured is Amy Bauer who accepted the 15-year service award for her husband, Scott Hsu. Not pictured are Matt Balkey, Karl Fisher and Sean French. Photo by Maire O’Neill/losalamosreporter.com

IMG_1072 (1).jpgKim Sherwood and Mike Green at Saturday’s Pajarito Mountain Ski Patrol awards event. Photo by Maire O’Neill/losalamosreporter.comIMG_1063.jpgPajarito Mountain Ski Patroller Ralph Nelson, center, receives his 35-year service award Saturday. Also pictured are, from left, Patrol Director Bill Purtymun, Elaine and Ralph Nelson, Heidi Rogers and Asst. Patrol Director Denny Hjeresen. Photo by Maire O’Neill/losalamosreporter.com