The Los Alamos Visitor Center will be open at its new location—475 20th Street, Suite A, on the north side of the Community Building next to the Teen Center—beginning Saturday, April 6, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. An official ribbon cutting will be scheduled at a later date.
The Los Alamos Visitor Center has been closed since January 1 as the County coordinated the relocation of the following organizations to free up this more visible, centralized County-owned space for the visitor center, as recommended by the County’s 2018 Tourism Strategic Plan:
The New Mexico State University’s Cooperative Extension Office is now located at the historic “Red Cross’ cottage at 1251 Bathtub Row. The Manhattan Project National Historical Park administrative offices are now located on the first floor of Fuller Lodge in Room 111; and the Los Alamos Arts Council’s administrative offices are located in Room 201 on the second floor of Fuller.
The County’s Facilities Division staff completed renovations to the space last week and LACDC’s visitor center staff moved in this week, with a focus on providing an inviting, informative space, with minimal clutter. New exhibits are planned for the interior and exterior in the coming months.
The new location was recommended by the County’s Tourism Implementation Task Force as a temporary, cost-effective location pending future needs and locations assessment for a possible new permanent site, pending available approved budget.
For questions or additional information, the public should contact Kelly Stewart, Marketing Specialist with the Los Alamos County Economic Development Division at firstname.lastname@example.org or (505) 662-8087 or Melanie Pena, Visitor Center Manager with Los Alamos Commerce and Development Corporation’s Discover Los Alamos program at email@example.com.